Before you begin your search to discover the best Florida auto insurance rates, you ought to first consider simply how much coverage is enough for your lifestyle. Although the average auto insurance premium in their state of Florida is $1,695 (2009), not absolutely all Florida residents can pay the same rates. Depending on a number of factors, you could pay more or less than the typical Florida driver. Premiums vary greatly by age, gender, geographic location, and form of vehicle, mileage, usage, driving record, employment, and even credit. Florida drivers could also wind up spending less on the basis of the kinds of discounts each policyholder qualifies for.
To get going on purchasing Florida auto insurance, a great kick off point is the state’s minimum auto liability insurance requirements. It is important to note that Florida’s car insurance laws have undergone several changes since 2007. The data published here comes directly from the official Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). According to FLHSMV, in order to maintain a Florida license plate and registration, Florida’s minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
Because Florida has the third highest amount of drivers on the way in the united states (12,905,813) and approximately 23% of the drivers are uninsured, most auto insurance companies and state insurance departments recommend carrying higher amounts compared to minimum requirements. In addition they recommend carrying uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This could help protect you from the nearly 3 million uninsured drivers and the an incredible number of underinsured drivers in their state of Florida. Overall, the minimum recommended amounts for car insurance in Florida are $100,000 for bodily injury and $300,000 per accident.
Once you’ve established an amount that is sufficient to safeguard you and your loved ones against auto accidents, it’s time to start shopping and comparing. Contact around 3 auto insurance companies and request a quote. If you request quotes online you are able to save time. You will undoubtedly be asked a series of questions and the device will create a quote. After you have received up to three quotes, contact Florida auto insurance your company of choice and inquire about discounts. Most insurance providers offer multiple discounts, sometimes up to 9 or more, and there is a good chance you could qualify for more than one. You may be in a position to profit on discounts to be a good driver or an adult drivers. Other discounts are available for car-pool drivers, multicar households, multipolicy discounts, antitheft devices, and seatbelts and airbags. Some auto insurance companies even offer discounts for non-smokers.
Note: The state of Florida has strict laws about whom you conduct business with. If you’re a Florida resident and your vehicle is registered in the state of Florida, you should purchase a car insurance plan via an insurance company that is licensed to sell car insurance in the state of Florida. If you purchase a car insurance policy from an unlicensed out-of-state insurance provider, their state of Florida will not honor the policy. In addition, new Florida residents are prohibited from maintaining a preexisting policy that has been issued in their previous state of residence.